

CONFERENCE



Dispute Resolution and Taxpayer Protection

INTERNATIONAL





IBFD, Your Portal to Cross-Border Tax Expertise





09:00-09:30 Registration

09:30-09:45 Salutation

Euclid Tsakalotos

Minister of Finance

Constantine Michalos

President of Institute for Arbitration and Alternative Dispute Resolution, Greece

George Gerapetritis

Director, Department of Public Law, University of Athens Law School

09:45-10:00 Welcome remarks

George Pitsilis

Governor, Independent Authority for Public Revenue (IAPR)

10:00-11:30 Panel I

Developments in Greece:

Administrative Dispute Resolution and the Mutual Agreement Procedure (MAP) in cross border cases

Moderator Alexandros Karagiannis

Vice President of the Legal Council of State, Head of the Bureau of the Legal Council of State, IAPR

Panelists Timos Papadopoulos

Director of the Dispute Resolution Unit, IAPR

The administrative dispute resolution mechanism: The Dispute Resolution Unit of the IAPR

Lydia-Elisavet Sofrona

Director of Legal Services, IAPR

Legal issues in the application of the Mutual Agreement Procedure for the resolution of multijurisdictional tax disputes in Greece

Odysseas Pylalis

Director of International Economic Relations, IAPR
Practical aspects of the Mutual Agreement
Procedure

11:30-12:00 coffee break



12:00-13:30 Panel II

Dispute resolution and taxpayer protection: the international framework

Moderator Prof. Theodore Fortsakis

University of Athens Law School

Panelists Andreas Tsourouflis

Lecturer on Public Law, University of Athens

The EU Arbitration Convention

Katerina Perrou

Legal Counsel, IAPR, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, IBFD, University Assistant, University

of Athens Law School

Taxpayer protection under the ECHR

Sandra Knaepen

Head of the Mutual Agreement Procedure Unit at

CTP, OECD

Dispute resolution and Protection of taxpayer

rights: The OECD Perspective

13:30-14:30 lunch break

14:30-16:00 Panel III

Dispute resolution and taxpayer protection: a comparative overview

Moderator <u>Honorable Vassilios Skouris</u>

Former President of the European Court of

Justice

Panelists Nina Olson

US Taxpayer Advocate

The US Tax Payer Bill of Rights

Pasquale Pistone

Academic Chairman, IBFD, Professor of International and European Tax Law at WU University of Vienna and Tax Law at the

University of Salerno

Protection of taxpayer rights in the EU

Andreas Pottakis

The Greek Ombudsman

Protection of taxpayers in Greece: the

Ombudsman experience



16:00-16:30 coffee break

16:30-18:00 Panel IV

Round Table

Creating a safe environment for tax

payers: Tax payer protection and

Dispute Resolution

Moderator George Pitsilis

Governor, IAPR

Panelists Rena Girinakis

Deputy US Tax Payer Advocate

Elaine Benn

Central Customer Directorate, Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs (HMRC), United Kinadon

Jean-Luc Barçon-Maurin

Head of the Legal Services, French Genera Directorate of Public Finances (DGFIP)

Jeroen Weijers

Strategical advisor Individuals, Services and Appeals Directorate, Netherlands Tax and Customs Administration (NTCA), the Netherlands

18:00-18:30 Closing Remarks

Honorable Irini Sharp

President of the Tax Division of the Greek Supreme Court, Vice-President of the Greek Supreme Court